I have close family members who are intolerant to gluten and some who choose not to eat gluten for a variety of reasons.
A few years ago it used to be hard to cater to them and you’d end up cooking a couple of different dishes just so everyone was happy. Nowadays it’s much easier.
Gluten-free foods have come so far and we no longer have to cook separate meals or leave our gluten-intolerant family and friends feeling like they are missing out.
Now, I can’t think of a food you can’t either buy or cook a gluten-free version of.
Here are seven surprising foods you didn’t know were gluten free.
Most ice-creams are gluten-free. You can eat as much chocolate, vanilla and strawberry as you like. The food gods are so kind.
However, when you get to the gourmet varieties, you’ll find a lot of flavours with ingredients that contain gluten such as cookie dough, biscuits, lollies and all those good things. But don’t despair. Just mix some gluten-free treats into your favourite ice-cream flavour and create your own at home.
Yes, I have listed these foods in order of importance. Vodka is gluten-free, so all those delicious cocktails containing vodka and even those containing fruit juice are safe for you to drink. In fact, all spirits are gluten-free including gin, vodka and whisky. You can also drink wine and champagne.
You’ll just need to avoid most beers, although there are a few gluten-free varieties on the market these days.
Plain gluten-free pasta has been around for a while but the fancier varieties of pasta, particularly all the delicious fresh varieties, have always been off limits. Not anymore.
Latina Fresh Gluten Free Pasta Range including beef ravioli, lasagne sheets and fettuccine, is now on the menu and endorsed by Coeliac Australia.
Who else feels like throwing a dinner party? I love to serve two or three varieties of pasta when entertaining plus a couple of different salads. Don’t forget good quality parmesan and some wine and spirits.
4. Some chocolate bars.
Of course, you should always check the label – but a surprising amount of chocolate bars are actually gluten-free.