reality tv

The Block’s Grand Finale is nearly here, and we've got all the juicy goss.

If you're a fan of real estate, relationship drama or maybe perhaps just winning a whole lot of cash – chances are you've probably been watching the new season of The Block.

Five teams have steadily been building the house of their dreams in the sunny Bayside area of Melbourne, and as with every season, the tension has reached an all-time high.

Watch the trailer for No Hard Feelings. Story continues after post.

Video via Columbia Pictures.

Over the past few weeks, our Blockheads have busily been knocking out walls, wrestling with budgets and as always... investing in an insurmountable amount of pillows hoping to win big.

But as the season nears an end, speculation about who will be crowned winner and potentially make history with their successes is well underway.

So in anticipation of this year's season finale, let's look at our top three past winners.

1. Dr Andrew and Jamie Rochford, 2004.

Image: The Daily Telegraph.

The Block season two winners were Dr Andrew Rochford and now-wife Jamie Nicholson, who ended up winning $178,000 in profit.


"I was a final-year medical student when I applied, and I was just trying to win some money," he previously told Stellar Magazine.

Since wrapping up the show Dr Andrew has gone on to host programs like The Project, Studio 10, Breakfast on Channel 10, The Living Room, National Medical Editor and Pointless. And even appeared in the TV drama Offspring in 2011.  

2. Josh Barker and Elyse Knowles, 2017.


Josh and Elyse took home $547,000 in prize money after comedian Dave Hughes purchased their Elsternwick property for a cool $3.06m in 2017.

"We worked so hard to get on the show, and then we found out we got in, and we kind of had this shock feeling of, 'Oh my God. Imagine if this is going to have a negative effect on my career. I’ve been working so hard since I was 10 years old on modelling, is this going to make me or break me?' It was a really big chance that I took," shared Elyse in an interview with Mamamia.

3. Omar and Oz, 2022.

Image: Nine.

On the most recent season of The Block, Omar and Oz smashed expectations within the first few minutes of their auction, these winners ended up walking away with almost $850,000 each, marking the most any contestants have ever won on the show.

The Block 2023 airs Sunday at 7.00pm and Monday to Wednesday at 7.30pm on Nine and 9Now.

Love The Block? Catch up on everything from room reveals and everything Scott Cam related here:

Image: Nine.

Calling all Shopaholics, Retail Therapy Enthusiast & Glamour Gurus ! Take this short survey now to go in the running to win a $50 gift voucher!