rogue

Yes, Instagram is notifying people when you take screenshots. But there's a catch.

There’s a rumour going around that has social media creeps everywhere cursing their freshly updated smartphones.

Basically, it’s that Instagram is now sending out notifications to people every time another user takes a screenshot of one of their photos or videos.

This is — let’s face it — a terrifying prospect and people are understandably losing their minds.

BUT before you throw your phone in the sea and begin that much-needed digital detox you’ve been promising yourself, it’s not as bad as it sounds. At all.

Last week, Instagram introduced a new Snapchat-esque feature allowing users to send disappearing photos and videos to friends and groups friends via Instagram Direct.

It’s supposed to be a “spontaneous, pressure-free” way to connect, apparently.

They explained the changes in a blog post:

Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.

In a way the rumour IS true — Instagram will send out a notification if you screenshot a friend’s photo or video, but only disappearing ones.

And in short what that means is you’re free to take all the unsolicited snaps of inspiring brunches and hilarious memes you like.

Creep on, world.

Tags: facebook-rogue , instagram , news-3 , social-media
00:00 / ???